Funding Available for New Bike Racks and eLockers

Photo Credit: Jym Dyer

The Bay Area Air Quality Managemend District has made $840,000 of Transportation Fund for Clean Air (TFCA) funds available to fund the purchase of new bike racks. Although only public agencies and institutions are eligible, you can get in touch with potential applicants and ask them to apply.

Last fiscal year, nearly $637,000 in TFCA funds were awarded to support the installation of new secure bicycle parking, which resulted in the installation of 2,200 bicycle rack parking spaces and 220 electronic lockers.

We know there are lot of East Bay cities that need better bike parking but don’t have the funding to purchase and install more racks. Encourage your city today to take action and provide safe and secure racks for residents.

Applications are currently being accepted and funding for eligible projects is available on a first-come, first-served basis, through January 29, 2016, or until all funds have been spent. All public agencies within Air District’s jurisdiction are eligible (e.g., cities, counties, schools, libraries, parks)

Contact your city planner from the list below, let them know about the upcoming pre-application webinar on September 15th, and suggest some key locations for new bike racks. Even better, talk with your local business owners, business association or business improvement district and ask them to send in requests to the city. 

Application Page for Electronic Lockers

Application Page for Bike Racks





Name City County Email
Gail Payne Alameda Alameda gpayne@alamedaca.gov
  Alamo Contra Costa  
Aleida Chavez Albany Alameda achavez@albanyca.org
Rob Bernal Antioch Contra Costa rbernal@ci.antioch.ca.us
Eric Anderson Berkeley Alameda eanderson@ci.berkeley.ca.us
Steve Kersevan Brentwood Contra Costa skersevan@ci.brentwood.ca.us
  Clayton Contra Costa  
Andy Mogensen Concord Contra Costa andrew.mogensen@cityofconcord.org
Ty Williams Danville Contra Costa twilliams@ci.danville.ca.us
William Lai Dublin Alameda william.lai@dublin.ca.gov
Jim Townsend East Bay Regional Park District Both jtownsend@ebparks.org
Melanie Mintz El Cerrito Contra Costa mmintz@ci.el-cerrito.ca.us
Marcy Greenhut Emeryville Alameda mgreenhut@emeryville.org
Rene Dalton Fremont Alameda rdalton@ci.fremont.ca.gov
Fred Kelley Hayward Alameda Fred.Kelley@hayward-ca.us
  Hercules Contra Costa  
Leah Greenblat Lafayette Contra Costa lgreenblat@ci.lafayette.ca.us
Bob Vinn Livermore Alameda bgvinn@ci.livermore.ca.us
Tim Tucker Martinez Contra Costa ttucker@cityofmartinez.org
Ellen Clark Moraga Contra Costa eclark@moraga.ca.us
Soren Newark Alameda soren.fajeau@newark.org
Jason Patton Oakland Alameda achan@oaklandnet.com
  Oakley Contra Costa  
Larry Theis Orinda Contra Costa ltheis@cityoforinda.org
Kate Black Piedmont Alameda kblack@ci.piedmont.ca.us
  Pinole Contra Costa  
Keith Halvorson Pittsburg Contra Costa khalvorson@ci.pittsburg.ca.us
Eric Hu Pleasant Hill Contra Costa ehu@ci.pleasant-hill.ca.us
Mike Tassano Pleasanton Alameda mtassano@ci.pleasanton.ca.us
Patrick Phelan Richmond Contra Costa patrick_phelan@ci.richmond.ca.us
  Rodeo Contra Costa  
Reh-Lin Chen San Leandro Alameda rchen@ci.san-leandro.ca.us
Roberta Feliciano San Pablo Contra Costa robertaf@sanpabloca.gov
Darlene Amaral San Ramon Contra Costa damaral@sanramon.ca.gov
Paul Keener Unincorporated Alameda County Alameda Paulk@acpwa.org
John Cunningham Unincorporated Contra Costa Contra Costa John.Cunningham@dcd.cccounty.us
Carmela Campbell Union City Alameda CarmelaC@unioncity.org
Jeremy Lochirco Walnut Creek Contra Costa Lochirco@walnut-creek.org

 

Don’t want to speak to a planner? You can also get in touch with your local elected officials and ask them to direct staff to apply for funding. 

View the presentation from a past pre-application webinar.

General Questions about the Bike Rack Voucher Program can be directed to grants@baaqmd.gov, or call (415) 749-4994.